A 5 Minute Loaf of Bread

Though not exactly on the topic of recycling, I have a recipe that I wanted to share with the site as it is super easy and tastes great!

I have been making bread for about 6 months now and the only way I manage to do it, with all the other jobs of the morning, is because I use this super quick and easy recipe. This is a great tasting loaf, similar to a sour dough and has a wonderful thick crunchy crust. The only unusual requirement is a Dutch oven/cast iron pot.

If you make something similar or give it a go please let me know how you get on!

Here goes…

IMG_0135

Combine 3 cups bakers flour. 1/4 tsp yeast and 1tsp salt in a bowl with 1 and 1/2 cups of warm water. I prefer to use slightly less water than this as I find a dryer dough is easier to handle and rises better. In all honesty though all flours are different and its a bit of trial and error.

IMG_0136

Cover with glad wrap and I give it some extra warmth with a tea towel. Leave to rest overnight or for the day.

IMG_0137

It should look a little like this when ready and when you go to remove it from the bowl it will have a spongy texture.

IMG_0138

Kneed (manipulate) the dough very briefly on a floured surface to form into a ball. Cover with a tea-towel and leave to rise again in a warm spot, for 1 hour.

IMG_0139

Here is mine after 1 hour. Its puffed up nicely and is ready to cook.

IMG_0141

Preheat oven and your pot at 230 degrees. (I have a fan forced oven)

IMG_0140

Pop the loaf in for 20 minutes with the lid placed on the pot. Then remove the pot lid and reduce the oven temperature to 200 degrees for 15 minutes to brown the loaf.

IMG_0144

A yummy, crusty, delicious loaf. Enjoy!

2 comments

  1. Celestina Leach

    Greetings! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have been reluctant to have a go at making bread as I suspect that my oven would NOT produce a crusty loaf. I don’t possess a cast iron Dutch oven due to it being TOO heavy to handle with my seriously affected arthritic hands & wrist. What is the recommended size of the Dutch oven? I think I may be tempted to try bread making. Kind regards Cele

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    • Jess Egobi

      Hi Cele,

      I have a big Dutch Oven (30cm diameter) I’m not sure how many litres it is sorry but it’s far too big for the loaf – but with 6 people in our house we also use it for stews so we got a big one.
      I bet you could find one on Freecycle or at an OP Shop and I’m sure a medium size would work fine.

      I hope you manage to get a lighter pot to have a go as it’s a lovely loaf!

      Thanks for the comment Cele.

      Jess

      Like

Leave a Reply

