Bird’s eye chilli

We brought a few of this tiny chillies to the last swap.  Don’t be fooled by its size, it’s small but hot.  According to wikipedia, it measures 50,000 – 100,000 Scoville units.  That sure sounds very hot but I don’t need the numbers to tell me it’s hot!

We call this ‘cili padi’ in Malay but its name in Chinese is translated to “chilli that points to the sky”.  You can see why from this picture of my plant.  The chillies actually point upwards.

Bird's eye chilli

So for those of you who like it hot, this is a great chilli to plant as the chillies being small, will save you space while giving you the hotness in a small fruit 🙂  Come to the next swap to get a sample!  Don’t take my word for it as I don’t quite like hot chillies; taste it for yourself and maybe get a sore throat for a day like my son did when he and his adventurous friends decided to see how hot a small chilli can be…

2 comments

  1. janetdown

    My son cooked his stir fry with your yellow chilli I got from the last swap and said it was good so it must have been hot! (That’s how he likes it.) Maybe I’ll get to try it next time!

    Like

    • Thanks for your son’s review! This chilli can be green, yellow or red and still hot. I’m not sure why mine is turning out yellow although I think it will turn red later…maybe too much sunlight

      Like

Leave a Reply

